#OurMentalHealth

Mental wellness is essential — especially in our community, especially now. Black people have unique mental health risks and are disproportionately impacted by COVID-19. It is reported that 1 in 5  African-Americans deal with mental health issues. We are also the least likely population to ask for help, with more barriers to access and a unique history of being misdiagnosed, which can lead to mistrust when seeking professional help.

Drastic changes brought on by the pandemic can be overwhelming for anyone. This Mental Health Awareness Week we are committing to #OurMentalHealth. Prioritize your well-being this week and join us with Black actors, founders, a culturally competent therapist; trap yoga, and more to follow. All are welcome.

MONDAY
Mindful Moment
1:00pm EST/10:00am PST

Invite stillness to your day and ease into the new week with 10-minute meditation from anywhere led by instructor Dianne Bondy.

diannebondyyoga.com
| IG: @diannebondyyoga

@blackwomentalktech Instagram Live
Follow to be notified ?

 

TUESDAY
Barber Shop Talk + Q&A
8:30pm EST/5:30pm PST

Actors Kendrick Sampson (Insecure HBO) and Gata (Dave FX) discuss mental health in their characters’ and personal lives. See why breakout actor, Gata’s, getting Emmy buzz with this scene from new hit show Dave ?

@blackmentalktech Instagram Live
Follow to be notified ?

 

WEDNESDAY
Twitter Takeover: Midweek Check-in
10:00pm EST/7:00pm PST

Join licensed, culturally competent therapist Ashley McGirt — checking in with you, providing general tools to cope during the pandemic, and debunking therapy myths. Nearly 90% of McGirt’s clients are Black women in tech dealing with anxiety and depression at fast-paced tech environments in predominantly white spaces.

What are you hoping to learn? Tweet @BWTalkTech or send your question privately below to have your questions answered during our  Twitter Takeover.

ashleymcgirt.com | IG: @therapywithash

@BWTalkTech Twitter Takeover
Follow and click the bell to be notified (top right) ?

THURSDAY
Beauty Shop Talk + Q&A
1:00pm EST/10:00am PST

At a time when many of our salons are closed, join beauty tech founders as they share their unique journeys of mental health and building their own businesses.

Kim Roxie
Moderator, Black Women Talk Tech/Talk Tech Association Austin Chapter Lead, Founder of Lamik Beauty, an environmentally conscious line for women of color.

lamikbeauty.com | IG: @lamikbeauty, @thekimroxie

Chris-Tia Donaldson
Founder of Thank God It’s Natural products found in select Ulta, Target, Walmart, Sally Beauty, CVS,  and Walgreens stores. Proud cancer survivor and Harvard Law Grad.

thankgoditsnatural.com | IG: @tginatural 

Anthara Patrice
Founder of Mybeautyfill™?, an app for beauty services with discrete resource to leave an abusive relationship — derived from her own experiences as a domestic violence survivor.

IG: @mybeautyfill

Talk Tech Association YouTube Live | Click to be notified when Live ?

 

FRIDAY
Stay in the HOUSE PARTY
8:00pm EST/5:00pm PST

Come as you are, grab a drink, and join DJ Brittany Sky for a 45-minute live set!

brittanysky.com | IG: @brittanysky

@blackwomentalktech Instagram Live
Follow to be notified ?

SATURDAY
#TrapYogaChallenge
11:00am EST/8:00am PST

Finish the week off strong with Black Boys Om President and Khepera Wellness Founder, Brandon Copeland. Copeland created space to cope with the trauma of police killings in our community. His DC studio offers Black Girl Magic classes, Trap Yoga, and more.

Commit and tag two friends to join you for the #TrapYogaChallege and don’t forget to use the hashtag #OurMentalHealth for us to share your yogi selfie. First timers welcome!??

kheperawellness.com | IG: @brandonflows, @blackboysom, @kheperawellness

@blackmentalktech Instagram Live (Tune in from desktop for easier viewing)
Follow to be notified ?

#OurMentalHealth

black woman's hands typing at keyboard

Why Finding a Black Therapist Made All the Difference

“My old therapist indicated that she thought some of my problems stemmed from growing up in poverty. I did NOT grow up in poverty.”

Culturally Competent African American Care